What I’m Into April 2014

Image

April, as it turns out, has been quite the whirlwind. At the beginning of the month, I received an offer to do some archaeological and historical research in southern England for 12 weeks this summer, and we were able to work things out to my husband could come along for the whole time, so we’ve been running a lot of errands and making plans. Provided none of my worst customs nightmares come true (I tend to be a bit of a worrywart) we should be arriving at Gatwick the morning of May 10. I’m so excited for the opportunity, and my month has been dominated with planning and preparing. We also had the chance to make an incredibly quick trip back home to New Brunswick for Aaron’s grandfather’s 80th, and we enjoyed the opportunity to catch up with so many family members, however briefly. I’ve been so busy preparing errands that my media consumption has gone down some this month, but as usual I am linking up with Leigh Kramer to share some of what I’ve been into for April.

Books

  • Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple–this was a delightful, laugh-out-loud book. Well worth taking a break from school reading.
  • Reboot by Amy Tintera–This was your run-of-the-mill teenage dystopian novel. It’s no Hunger Games, but I enjoyed it.
  • Pastrix by Nadia Bolz-Weber–I’ve been sitting on this one quote all week: “Every time we draw a line between ourselves and others, Jesus is on the other side of that line”

Music

  • I’m super excited for the new All Sons & Daughters release next week, and I downloaded the free single You Restore My Soul (King of Glory) over here. 
  • I’ve been looking at past clips from British talent shows (because, you know, England) and I am in love with this cover of Cher’s Believe by Ella Henderson from the X Factor. She actually makes it sound good.

  • I’ve also had this (much less beautiful but super catchy) song stuck in my head. 

Movies

  • I had a girls’ night with some friends at the beginning of April, and we watched Bring It On, which drove home for me just how long ago 2000 was. I mean, the movie featured cassette mixtapes and lines like “Come on Torrance, I can’t mack on you in front of the rentals.” I also ended up with Toni Basil’s Hey Mickey stuck in my head for a good week, thanks to the Bring It On credits.
  • Aaron and I watched Pitch Perfect because, acapella. The movie itself was only ok, but the soundtrack was fantastic.
  • I also took the time to rewatch Frozen and The Incredibles with my sister while we were home. It’s been odd rewatching The Incredibles now that Craig T. Nelson has basically become Zeek from Parenthood in my head.

Television

  • I’ve been keeping up on all the regular shows (Once Upon a Time, Community, Modern Family, Big Bang Theory, Parks & Rec) and I’m loving the softening of Regina’s character on OUAT.
  • I’ve also been watching through back seasons of Joan of Arcadia and Parenthood (which is a total sobfest, fyi), and enjoying both.

Food

I’ve been trying to draw down our stocks of perishable food in preparation for this trip, so I haven’t had the chance to experiment quite as much in the kitchen as I usually do (my usual What I’m Into Pinterest board is a bit sparse this month). However, these bacon, egg, and maple dijon aioli burgers were phenomenal, and I made a batch of one of my favourite cookies–Joy the Baker’s Buttered Popcorn Chocolate Chip Cookies (to which I added M&Ms, because why not?). Gluten and dairy-free friends might appreciate this Chocolate Olive Oil Cake (I used a canola/oo blend). I’ve also been really into discounted Easter chocolate (hello Cadbury mini eggs) and these Chicken Parmesan Crostini make great finger foods.

Image

Clothing

I’ve been doing some shopping in preparation for England (it comes in cycles. I can go a year and buy hardly anything, then suddenly I’m buying all.the.things), and I have a few new favourite items that I’ve been loving (pictures from store websites because I take truly terrible selfies).

I am in love with this top from Penningtons. It may be my favourite of all the tops I own.

Image

 

I am also loving my new raincoat, because purple!

Image

 

And finally, after a whole month of searching in vain for rain boots that actually fit (#widefootproblems), I finally found a pair I love at Marks Work Wearhouse

Image

Online

  • My sister introduced me to the (occasionally creepy) entertainment that is Kid Snippets. These are short films that are narrated by children who improvise skits, and then re-enacted by lip-syncing adults, They are hilarious, if occasionally unnerving. These are a few of my favourites.

I just die every time he shows off the “bacon pancakes”

“Yeah, she can have pizza. As long as it doesn’t have cheese, pepperonie, crust, sauce…”

  • This is totally adorable because babies are dancing!
  • I love Jayson Bradley’s thoughts on what we should keep in mind when we post our opinions on Facebook.

That’s it for me for this week. Be sure to head over to Leigh’s blog and check out some of the other linked posts. 

 

 

4 responses to “What I’m Into April 2014

  1. What an exciting month! Wishing you all the best for your move! 🙂 Your new clothes are fabulous! Pastrix has been on my radar for quite a while – I need to read that asap! 🙂

  2. Christie Esau

    Pastrix. I absolutely loved that book, AND the quote that you mentioned. So glad you picked it up! Also, I’m in full support of Pitch Perfect. Not a great movie, but the vocals are so much fun.

  3. You get to spend the whole summer in England?! JEALOUS. I mean, I’m happy for you. 😉

    Really loving where Once Upon A Time is going this season. The actress playing Regina deserves many awards. I’m going to try that Chocolate Olive Oil cake posthaste.

  4. bellevierge

    I’m so jealous of your historic research in England! What a fun adventure. 🙂

Leave a comment