Honey-Sweetened Spiced Chocolate Cutout Cookies

2017-05-03 17.53.32.jpg

I only very, very rarely try my hand at developing my own recipes, because there’s so much already out there on the Internet that I want to try. But every once in awhile the inspiration strikes me. I wanted to make cookies for an event and, because of dietary restrictions, they needed to be refined sugar free. Luckily for me, I have ready access to some high-quality local honey from Bee Quest Honey, which my aunt and uncle run. And I had previously served these Mexican chocolate shortbread cookies to rave reviews, and I knew that the unique taste of honey as a sweetener would offset the hint of cinnamon and cayenne pepper just perfectly. Using the Mexican chocolate cookie recipe and this recipe for honey cutout cookies as a base, I put together this recipe for sugar-free spiced chocolate cutout cookies. The recipe yielded about 4 dozen cookies (ymmv, depending on the size of your cookie cutters). I was super pleased with how they turned out, and I got the chance to use some recently acquired cookie cutters. Enjoy!

You’ll need:

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup honey, depending on how sweet you want your cookies to be
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp finely ground coffee
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne powder
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 cups flour

Cream the butter and honey together, and beat in the egg and vanilla. Combine the dry ingredients and stir them into the honey butter mixture. Flatten into a disc and refrigerate 30 mins. Then roll out to 1/4 inch thickness and bake 15 minutes at 325 degrees Fahrenheit. Enjoy!

One response to “Honey-Sweetened Spiced Chocolate Cutout Cookies

  1. Pingback: What I’m Into May 2017 | christinaemoss

Leave a Reply

