What I’m Into April 2017

what-im-into

As April draws to a close, I’m once again linking up with Leigh Kramer to share some of what I’ve been into this month.

Reading

Well, it’s looking like I’ll have no trouble meeting my 50 book pledge for the year, since I’m already at 44. This month, after hearing raves about it forever, I finally read Walter Brueggeman’s The Prophetic Imagination, and it feels as timely as ever. I also really enjoyed Princess Ben, which is a middle grade novel (Modern Mrs. Darcy’s Kindle deals have been broadening my horizons) with a really compelling lead. It reminds me of Gail Carson Levine’s books, and she was my absolute favourite growing up. I also just finished The Circle, and am feeling pretty unsettled by it still. I expected it to be dark, but it was even more so than I thought it would be. I did call Kalden’s identity pretty much as soon as he showed up though, and I can’t decide whether that means I should be proud of myself or that it was too obvious. As usual, you can see all the books I’ve read so far this year here.

Watching

We saw two plays this month: Singin’ in the Rain in St. Jacobs and The Bodyguard at the Princess of Wales theatre in Toronto. Both were lovely, but I’m even more excited to see HMS Pinafore in Stratford on Friday.

TV-wise, I watched all of Dear White People and Thirteen Reasons Why on Netflix (TRW was compelling cinema, but I totally understand the issues people have with it. If you’ve got kids watching it I’d definitely recommend having some in-depth discussions with them about the content.)

Listening

Easter is unquestionably my favourite time of the church year musically. I love how lovely and haunting the Good Friday songs are and how beautiful and joyful the Easter morning songs are. Aaron and I joined the Good Friday choir, got ever so slightly better at reading music, and learned a whole bunch of new songs. This one was probably my favourite. We sang the English version (Ah Holy Jesus), but the Berlin choral rendition was the prettiest one I could find on Youtube.

Then on Easter morning we sang one of my favourite Easter songs (A Toi La Gloire/Thine Be the Glory) and I found out that my church can really rock a congregational rendition of the Hallelujah Chorus. It’s apparently a tradition, so we’ve that to look forward to next year as well.

On the not hymns front, I started listening to the Dear Evan Hansen soundtrack, and I’ve really been liking it.

Eating

My favourite thing I made this month was definitely this cream cheese and prosciutto-stuffed chicken. This Mediterranean chicken with roasted red pepper sauce was also pretty great, and this chocolate chip cookie dough cake was a big hit when we had friends over for dinner. As usual, you can see all my favourites on my monthly What I’m Into Pinterest board.

That’s about it for me for the month of April. Be sure to head over to Leigh’s blog and check out some of the other link-up submissions.

3 responses to “What I’m Into April 2017

  1. Your recipes sound devastating! Happy first day of May!

  2. emhughsey

    Well done on all your reading this year! You are definitely going to kick that goal out of the park 🙂 Love the sound of your recipes too, and I agree with 13 Reasons Why – it raises so many good issues that would be great for discussion with teenagers, but heavy content for sure.

  3. 13 Reasons Why was really good though I thought they could’ve told the story in half the episodes. It’s sad that this is a reality for so many young girls.

Leave a Reply

