What I’m Into February 2017

what-im-into

Another month, another link-up. This month I was mostly into working to finish a draft of one of my dissertation chapters, but I also managed to get in some reading and TV watching and baking in between writing bursts. I am, as usual, linking up with Leigh Kramer to share some of what I’ve been into this month.

Reading

I didn’t quite match my January high of 14 books, but I did make it through another 9 this month. My favourites were the Jewel trilogy by Amy Ewing. It’s somewhere between dystopia and fantasy, and the jacket advertised it as Handmaid’s Tale meets Keira Cass’ The Selection. I devoured book one on Kindle in one night and enjoyed it so much that I immediately found the library’s ebook copy of book 2  and stayed up for another few hours. Definitely recommended for fans of YA fantasy/dystopia. I also enjoyed Kathryn Purdie’s Burning Glass, a YA fantasy novel that takes place in a Russia-esque setting, pre-Revolution. You can see all the books I’ve read so far this year here.

Watching

On the live theatre front, we caught a community theatre production of Seussical, which was a lot of fun. I’ve also been keeping up with the usual TV and also giving Riverdale, the CW’s new series, a try. I’m not a fan of some of the places they’re taking the arcs (it’s much darker than your average Archie comic), but I’m somewhat intrigued so far. I loved loved loved the Crazy Ex-Girlfriend season finale, and I’m super pumped to see where they take it in season 3. And Jane the Virgin had to go and crush my heart into a thousand tiny pieces (I seriously don’t think I’ve ever been this upset by a TV event), but I’m still keeping up because the writers and the cast are so fantastic.

Listening

I’ve been alternating between the Crazy Ex-Girlfriend songs and All Sons and Daughters for most of the month, which is honestly makes for a bit of thematic whiplash, but they’re both so good in their own ways.

Cooking

February involved a bit more ordering out than usual (hello deadline) but I still found time to try some new things. My favourite part of February is the specialty citrus that starts to show up in grocery stores. I haven’t tracked down any Meyer lemons yet, which is a pity, but I did find some key limes and blood oranges. I used the key limes in these lovely lime and ginger scones, and the blood oranges in this to die for blood orange olive oil cake (I swear, Deb from smitten kitchen is a culinary Midas. Every recipe she comes up with is stunning.) As usual, you can find all my favourite recipes of the month on my monthly What I’m Into Pinterest Board.

IRL

Last fall, when I sprained my ankle and took up swimming because I couldn’t do anything else, I signed myself up for swimming lessons for the winter to work on improving my different strokes. It turned out to be a fabulous decision. It’s been such a long time since I really took the time to learn a new skill, especially a physical one, and I’ve been enjoying tracking my progress each week. I think I need to start looking for other fun classes in the future.

I’ve also been working away at this cross stitch for a friend and cackling to myself as I do it. It’s a lot of fun.

imag0080

That’s about it for me for the month. Be sure to check out Leigh’s website for more link-up contributions.

4 responses to “What I’m Into February 2017

  1. LOVE your cross-stitch!!! 🙂

  2. The Jewel trilogy sounds like it’s up my alley! Love the cross stitch!

  3. emhughsey

    Sounds like a busy month! Lol at the cross stitch as well 😀

  4. i feel the same way about Jane the Virgin. How could we lose Michael??

Leave a Reply

