No Churn Basil, Honey, and Walnut Ice Cream

Last year, my sister and I visited Rome and I fell in love with a small local gelato chain called Gelateria Fatamorgana where I had hands down the best ice cream I have ever eaten in my life. They had such a wide array of mouthwatering flavours that it was hard to try everything that looked good. One surprisingly delicious flavour was a basil, walnut, and honey gelato, which I raved about to anyone who would listen for months.

This year, I (like many others on the Internet, apparently) have been obsessed with this no-churn ice cream recipe. It’s the easiest thing in the whole world: whip two cups of cream, fold in a can of sweetened condensed milk, add desired flavourings, freeze. I’ve made 8 or 9 variations on it already. It’s no Fatamorgana gelato, but it did give me the opportunity to recapture some of that delicious flavour in an easy to make at home way. I made this while out at the cottage with some friends, so I didn’t have time to stage any fancy photographs, but I assure you it’s delicious.

2016-07-08 20.02.56.jpg

To make this ice cream, you’ll need:

  • 2 cups cold whipping cream
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/2 cup packed basil leaves
  • 1/3 cup chopped toasted walnuts
  • 2 tablespoons honey

Whip the cream in a mixing bowl. Meanwhile, in a blender or food processor, process the basil, walnuts, and honey into a paste. (I threw mine into my Nutri-bullet with the condensed milk). Fold the condensed milk and the basil mixture into the cream. Freeze until set (7-8 hours) and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

