What I’m Into December 2015

Greetings from my in-laws’ house, where I’m been doing lots of eating, watching Netflix, and cross-stitching. As usual, I’m linking up with Leigh Kramer to share some of what I’ve been into this month.

what-im-into

Reading

Surprisingly little, actually, for vacation. I’ve mostly been taking advantage of our Kindle Unlimited subscription. I read all of Salla Simukka’s Snow White trilogy, a YA mystery series set in Finland. It didn’t quite have the fairy tale tie-ins I was expecting, but I loved the setting. I also just finished Mary Weber’s Storm Siren, and I think I may need to shell out for the rest of the trilogy (which is sadly not on Kindle Unlimited) or, better yet, convince my local library to do it. It’s a Thomas Nelson publication, but I didn’t realize this until the end of the book. There are no blunt religious tie-ins, just a good story.

Watching

I’ve been doing a lot of TV-watching (because hey, Christmas break, and I’ve started several new cross-stitching projects lately. I watched all of Cristela (seriously so bummed that show was cancelled) and season 1 of About a Boy, in addition to following my usual shows (I have all. the. feels. about Once Upon a Time and Jane the Virgin).

I’ve also been watching a lot of movies with family over the holidays: The Proposal, The Impossible, How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days (my ideal happy ending involves Andi moving to DC and not putting her life on hold for a guy she’s known all of 10 days), Confessions of a Shopaholic, and Identity Thief. None of them (with the exception of The Impossible) were especially compelling, but my cross-stitches are coming along very well.

Cooking

I didn’t do my usual full spate of Christmas baking this year, but I did give these white chocolate and pistachio-dipped brown butter sugar cookies a try, and they were lovely. I’ve also been taking full advantage of pomegranate season. My favourites were this impossibly easy and serious amazing six-ingredient chocolate pomegranate shortbread tart, and this honey pecan pomegranate chicken salad.

Crafting 

I’ve been on a roll with the cross-stitching this month. I’ve completed several Pixel people cross-stitches plus this fun Christmas one from steotch. Currently I’m working on a massive nativity silhouette, so I’ll let you know in 2 years when I finish it.

I’ve also had fun working with my sister to DIY some lampshades for her new apartment (her first!).

Gaming

The party game of the month for us has definitely been Telestrations. It’s a hit every time, even with people who don’t especially care for games. It’s basically a mash-up of telephone and pictionary, and I have yet to finish a game without laughing until my sides hurt.

We also really enjoyed giving Abracada…what? and Timeline a try with a friend at the board game cafe in Fredericton (which also happens to serve up some stunning grilled cheese sandwiches). We’re now in the process of trying to rope people into helping us try out the new games we got for Christmas.

irl

It’s nice to finish off the year spending time with our families. Aaron and I are pretty lucky that both sets of parents live only 2 hours apart, and we don’t have to choose between them on our vacations. We’re also looking forward to January, which will involve an NYC trip (I’ve never been) to go see Hamilton (!). If you have any must see free or cheap attractions, or food recommendations, I’m all ears.

That’s it for me for the month. Be sure to head over to Leigh’s blog to check out some of the other submissions.

3 responses to “What I’m Into December 2015

  1. Oh that cross stitch is fun! It’s so good to have something to do with your hands while watching TV. I’ve bookmarked the cookie recipe, looks yum!
    We had a short four days in NY about four years ago. I managed to time our arrival with catching flu but still forced myself through an amazing few days 🙂 I’ve links to everything we did in an old blog post that might be useful: http://fionalynne.com/new-york-all-the-details/ Otherwise, I always see amazing tips on the Cup of Jo blog. Hope you have a wonderful time!

Leave a Reply

