What I’m Into August 2015

what-im-into

How is it September tomorrow? Seriously, how? I can’t believe summer is over already (although I could go for the cooler temperatures of fall right about now). As always, I’m finishing up the month by linking up with Leigh Kramer to share some of what I’ve been into this month.

Reading

We road tripped this month, so I got a chance to read a bunch of YA I’d been meaning to get to. My favourite book of the month was probably Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes, a fantasy novel in a pseudo-Roman empire setting. Then I read (and enjoyed, mostly, although I had to suspend disbelief a lot) Pierce Brown’s Red Rising and Golden Son (2 parts of a dystopian trilogy set in an interplanetary futuristic pseudo-Roman empire) and decided that the Roman motif is getting a bit overdone. I also read Lady Thief and Lion Heart, the two sequels to Scarlet, and loved her take on the Robin Hood mythos. Most recently, I just finished Archetype by M.D. Waters and am in the middle of the sequel, Prototype. I’m enjoying the setting (vaguely A Handmaid’s Tale-ish. Come to think of it, enjoying is perhaps the wrong word) but driven to distraction by the fact that the main character/narrator doesn’t use contractions. I think it’s a deliberate choice and linked to the big reveal at the end of book 1, but it’s never explicitly addressed and it makes the dialogue feel a bit stilted.

Watching

TV-wise, we’re mostly watching through (and loving) Psych right now. It’s refreshing to have a procedural show that doesn’t take itself so seriously. I love how deliberately over-the-top it is (although, let’s be real, Shawn is a terrible person and Juliet should never date him, but probably will).

Listening

August featured new releases from two of my favourite acts ever: Nichole Nordeman (first new album–ok, EP–in 10 years, woot!) and Rend Collective, so those have been pretty much playing on a loop for the last week or so. I’m especially loving Rend Collective’s Every Giant Will Fall.

Eating

We spent a week this August road-tripping to Minnesota and back, so there was a lot of eating out this month. Favourites were Lou Malnati’s deep dish pizza in Chicago (obvs) and deep-fried breaded Wisconsin cheddar curds at a roadside A&W (don’t judge. They were fabulous.)

When not on the road, I’ve been taking advantage of the fact that peaches are in season here in Ontario right now, and they are to die for. Seriously, definitely a contender for my favourite fruit. I’ve been trying to make one peach recipe per day. Probably my favourite was the first one I tried: Seared Halloumi, Caramelized Peach, and Cherry Arugula Salad. Also pretty freaking fabulous, Grilled Peach, Blueberry, Goat Cheese, and Arugula Salad, Peach and Honeyed Whipped Feta Crostini. As usual, you can find all of my favourites of the month on my monthly What I’m Into Pinterest Board.

11035735_10155888617905414_8177756388045617597_n  11221281_10155858765960414_1885571259047068110_n 11892061_10155955485495414_423947954737221737_n

IRL

Aaron and I celebrated our fourth wedding anniversary this month. We spent the day in Chicago, enjoying some of the city’s museums and capping off the day with a performance of The Two Gentlemen of Verona in Oak Park (I may have found a Shakespearean protagonist I despise more than Romeo!). My favourite stop was definitely the Field Museum. We got there two hours before it closed and barely made it halfway through the permanent exhibits. There’s so much to see!

11896259_10155945846010414_4561130796283446135_n

From Chicago, we drove on to the outskirts of the Twin Cities, where we celebrated the wedding of Aaron’s youngest brother in a lovely nature park just outside Minneapolis. I was sorry not to get to visit my family the way we usually do in August, but I’m super excited for my BIL and his new wife.

Finally, this month, I got to watch my home church blow me away with their generosity as we collected school supplies and snacks for the children living in the local women’s emergency shelter. We folded the back seats down and still had to try to cram everything into my car. I’m so grateful to call Lamplight family. They are the best.

That’s it for me for the month. Be sure to visit some of the other link-up submissions over on Leigh’s blog.

6 responses to “What I’m Into August 2015

  1. I’m headed to Chicago later this month and I’m hoping to visit the Field Museum. It looks so fun.

  2. I didn’t know about the new Rend Collective album! Off to listen immediately!

    What a wonderful project to do with your church. It’s always amazing to see God’s people coming through in big ways. 🙂

  3. I love Psych! And I honestly don’t think Shawn is a terrible person, though at times he does need a swift kick in the rear. The Field Museum is incredible! Glad you had a good time in Chicago.

  4. I love Nicole Nordeman! She is awesome. Didn’t know she had a new one out. Congrats on your anniversary!
    I’m coming to you via Leigh Kramer’s place – I blog on being real with God in hard times over at Thorns and Gold – lovely to connect with you!

Leave a Reply

