What I’m Into July 2015

The end of July has come, along with a welcome respite from last week’s heat wave (I really should live in England. Cool and rainy year round really is my weather sweet spot). As usual, I am linking up with Leigh Kramer to share some of what I was into last month.

what-im-into

Reading

Last month, I started and loved A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan. This month, I devoured the next two books in the series: Tropic of Serpents and Voyage of the Basilisk. The Victorianesque memoir theme is a fun conceit, and Lady Trent is a delightful character. I’m pretty psyched for book 4 to release next year. I also enjoyed Katherine Addison’s The Goblin Emperor a lot. Court intrigue is always good fun. I read Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel  in one sitting and couldn’t sleep afterward. I think reading about the beginnings of the apocalypse in Toronto was just a little too close to home for comfort.

Watching

I watched two whole movies on Netflix this month (somehow I can watch 3 40 minute episodes in a row, but a movie seems like a huge time commitment. Not sure why this is.) I deeply regret wasting the time it took to watch the Maze Runner, which was basically a 2-hour video game sequence void of any real plot or character development. However, I loved loved loved Galaxy Quest, which I had never seen before. Fact: Alan Rickman makes anything he’s a part of 10 times as awesome.

TV-wise, I’ve been working through Psych and Full House. I’ve also been watching UnREAL, although the cynicism is getting a bit much for me. I like my shows idealistic (I miss you, West Wing!)

Food

Culinarily, July is a bit of an awkward month, because it falls smack dab between my two favourite growing seasons: strawberry and peach (you should see the recipes I’ve got on the docket for next month). I did manage to make the best of it, though. These Greek salad skewers are so much fun (and surprisingly healthy). I also love love loved this one-pot orzo with tomatoes, feta, and parmesan (I’ve spent a ridiculous amount of money on feta this month. No regrets). My friend Anna and I also rocked this recipe for laminated basil pasta with garlic brown butter sauce (I am trying to talk myself out of buying a pasta roller).The piece de resistance this month, though, was Aaron’s birthday cake: blueberry zucchini cake with lemon buttercream.

Aarons cake

IRL

I’ve been loving hanging out with friends at games nights, karaoke nights, and working bees (I’m not much a construction worker, but I justify my presence on the scene by providing dessert and childcare). I’ve also been taking a stab in earnest at getting my license, which means my longsuffering husband has spent hours and hours with me in the car. Tonight, after a good hour of parking practice, he begged me to stop and go home because “I’m getting motion sickness and this is like the world’s least exciting amusement park ride.” I am getting the hang of it, though. July’s been busy for us, and August is shaping up to be busier. We’re Minnesota-bound (with a stopover in Chicago for our anniversary) for Aaron’s youngest brother’s wedding and looking forward to driving through some parts of the continent we haven’t seen before.

That’s it for me for the month. Be sure to check out Leigh’s blog for some other link-up contributions.

One response to “What I’m Into July 2015

  1. Station Eleven just came in on Overdrive for me! I’ve got a few ebooks ahead of it but I’m looking forward to giving it a try.

Leave a Reply

