What I’m Into December 2014

what-im-into

I’m sending off 2014 by linking up once again with Leigh Kramer for another What I’m Into monthly recap. 2014 was a hard year in parts, but good overall and filled with friends and family and new experiences. Here’s hoping that continues in 2015.

Reading

I did a ridiculous amount of reading this month. I lost count exactly, but I ended up reading about 30 books (vacation is good for that). I’ll spare you all a detailed list, but highlights include Mallory Ortberg’s Texts from Jane Eyre (a quick read, but so funny), Jenny Lawson’s Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (which was hysterical. There were times I could barely breathe, I was laughing so hard), the Partials series by Dan Wells (pretty good as far as post-apocalyptic dystopian fiction goes, but I’m kind so over love triangles in YA fiction). My very favourite reads of the month were For Darkness Shows the Stars and Across a Star-Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund. Peterfreund writes reimaginings of Regency and Victorian literary classics as postapocalyptic YA novels, and I could not put them down. I definitely recommend them, and I especially liked how she gender-swapped the leads in her take on The Scarlet Pimpernel.

Movies

I saw two movies in theatres this month: the third Hobbit movie (which was only ok. I live in fear that Peter Jackson will decide to make a ten-part movie version of The Silmarillion next) and Annie (the soundtrack didn’t quite measure up to the original, but Quvenzhane Wallis is pretty brilliant). I also spent Christmas with my in-laws this year, which means I was introduced to a bunch of new-to-me Christmas specials. My favourite was the Muppets’ Christmas Carol.

Television

We’re still watching through The West Wing and Fresh Prince, but I also watched through both seasons of Mr. Selfridge on Netflix. My husband ruined it for me a little by pointing out just how similar Jeremy Piven’s take on Selfridge is to the fake Santa in The Santa Clause II. I enjoyed the show and I’m looking forward to season 3, although the ITV writers really need to find new ways besides adultery to inject drama into their characters’ lives.

Music

The songs on Taylor Swift’s 1989 have been ridiculously catchy.  I especially like Wonderland, which is one of the more underrated tracks on the album. I also picked up a copy of Steffany Gretzinger’s The Undoing mid-month and have been listening to it obsessively ever since. Cecie’s Lullaby is probably my favourite track.

Food 

I didn’t get to cook much for most of the month, since I was away from home, but I did get to do some Christmas baking before I left. My favourites included these Nutella Pinwheels, Banana Pecan Coconut Oil Shortbread Cookies, and these Chocolate and Toffee Bit Shortbread Cookies. I also had a chance to try my hand at this spectacular Pretzel-Crusted Schnitzel. As usual, you can find my favourite recipes of the month over on my monthly What I’m Into Pinterest board.

IRL

We spent this Christmas with my in-laws and, while I missed having my parents and siblings around, I enjoyed getting to experience their traditions more fully (although I’m still not down with this whole getting up early on Christmas morning business. German Christmas traditions are way more night owl-friendly). I also really enjoyed getting to know my eldest niece better, now that she’s old enough to carry on a conversation. She’s a lot of fun.

That’s it for me for this month. Be sure to head over to Leigh’s page to check out more link-up submissions. Happy New Year!

2 responses to “What I’m Into December 2014

  1. I can’t WAIT to read Ortberg’s book!

  2. That Steffany Gretzinger track is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

