What I’m Into August 2014

what-im-into

Another month has come and gone, this one mostly on Canadian soil. I’m linking up once again with Leigh Kramer to share some of what I’ve been into this August.

Books

We road tripped to New Brunswick to visit family, which means I finished all 22 books I borrowed from the public library this month. I’m not even ashamed. Every  last one of them was YA, most of them were redone fairy tales. I think my favourite was Kill Me Softly by Sarah Cross, a take on Sleeping Beauty with a few other fairy tales thrown in for good measure. Jackson Pearce’s series of fairy tale reboots set in Georgia was pretty good, but surprisingly dark, and I couldn’t put down Daughter of Smoke and Bone and its sequel. I’m nearly at the top of the library queue for book 3 and looking forward to it. Kerstin Gier’s Ruby Red series was pretty good as well (who doesn’t love time travel?), although I thought the ending was a bit much.

TV

I may or may not have binge-watched the entire sixth season of Drop Dead Diva in the first two days of the month. I’m glad they’ve finally wrapped it up and brought resolution to the whole Jane/Grayson arc (although am I the only one who wishes that Stacey and Fred could have stayed a thing? Owen’s nice, but I liked Fred better for her). Now, Aaron and I are watching through Fresh Prince (a re-watch for me, and I’m realizing anew how much Will is not as cool as he thinks he is) and The West Wing (which we’re loving. Rob Lowe as Sam Seaborn is just so adorably earnest.) I’m also watching through New Girl on my own, mostly for all the schadenfreude.

Movies

We watched The Giver in theatres. I was prepared for disappointment, but couldn’t pass up the opportunity to see what they’d done with the book. I didn’t love it, but I didn’t hate it either. I thought the whole boundary of memory plot line they added strained credulity, though.

Music

I’ve had a few new favourite music finds this month. I enjoyed the debut album by Colony House. It’s a band made up of two of Steven Curtis Chapman’s sons (and a friend), but they’ve grown and found their own musical sound since their earlier musical efforts as Stevenson. I really like what they have to offer, and the first single off their album has really taken off.

I’m also enjoying music from Citizens (now Citizens and Saints), a former worship band at Mars Hill (I know, it’s like I don’t even know myself. They’ve left the church, though, so I don’t feel so weird about it.) The first single off their new album is ridiculously catchy, and I’m looking forward to hearing the rest of it later this fall.

Food

You know what I’m really into? Being back in my own kitchen and making my own meals. Seriously, I’m loving it, especially since we made it back just in time for peach season. As usual, I’ve made up a What I’m Into Pinterest Board for the month with some of its culinary highlights. My very favourite recipes of the month include these phenomenal Strawberry Balsamic Grilled Chicken and Bacon Quesadillas, these Baked Peaches with Cardamom Streusel, and this simple but delicious Chicken, Sun-Dried Tomato, and Pesto Pasta.

IRL

We were able to take a week and a half and go to New Brunswick to see our families, which was lovely. We got to celebrate my niece’s first birthday, catch up with friends and family we hadn’t seen in several months, and see my sister before she went off to be an au pair in France for a year (I’m seriously excited for her, I think she’ll have a great time). Aaron and I also spent a day camping with my family. I can’t say I’m wild about camping, but I did like getting to spend time with my family, and the location (Deer Island, near the border with Maine) was gorgeous. Also this month, Aaron and I celebrated 3 years of marriage on the 20th. We didn’t do much to celebrate, as it came in the middle of a very short trip home and we wanted to make the most of the time we had there, but we’ll likely find a way to celebrate just the two of us in the coming month.

That’s it for me for the month, be sure to check out Leigh’s blog for more link-up contributions.

4 responses to “What I’m Into August 2014

  1. Christie Esau

    Love me some summer YA reading! And I’m SO glad that you liked the Laini Taylor books too. Such a great series.

  2. TWENTY-TWO BOOKS. I bow down to your greatness. Requesting Kill Me Softly from the library stat. So glad you’re enjoying the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy! Book 3 is seriously amazing. Hope you get it soon! Glad you got to spend time with family.

Leave a Reply

