Cornmeal Chicken with Fresh Peach Salsa

My husband and I moved to Ontario a little over a week ago to go to grad school, and we’ve just finished getting our apartment unpacked, but now that my kitchen is ready and I know where the grocery stores are I’ve been able to start cooking properly again.  This is a recipe from the Betty Crocker cookbook that I’ve been eyeing for awhile, and it did not disappoint.  It was so delicious and flavourful!  I served it with some green beans and a wedge of homemade foccacia.

You’ll need:

  • 5 medium peaches, diced (mine were massive, so I only used 4)
  • 1 large tomato, chopped (I had some red and yellow cherry tomatoes, so I halved about a cup of them)
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro (Zehrs was completely out of cilantro, so I used parsley instead)
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons white vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup yellow cornmeal (I used 1/3, and still had some left.  You may well be able to make do with 1/4 cup)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts (or do what I did.  Use 2, cut them in half, and take the meat mallet to them.  It creates the illusion that you’re eating more chicken than you actually are.  Just remember to adjust your cooking time accordingly)
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil

The night before you’re planning on making this, mix the peaches, tomato, cilantro, first amount of vegetable oil, vinegar, and first amount of salt.  Cover and refrigerate to let the flavours blend.  Then, the next day, mix the cornmeal, second amount of salt, and pepper.  Dredge the chicken in the cornmeal mixture until coated.  Heat the second amount of vegetable oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat and add chicken.  Cook for 15-20 minutes, turning once, until chicken is cooked through.  Enjoy 🙂  It’s a great way to take advantage of peach season, but you can also make it in the winter using three cups of defrosted chopped frozen peaches.

2 responses to “Cornmeal Chicken with Fresh Peach Salsa

  1. Hey Christina. I didn’t know you had a blog. I love it. I just started doing a blog myself. When you get a moment, check it out and let me know what you think.

  2. Pingback: What I’m Into August 2013 | christinaemoss

Leave a Reply

