Yellow Rice

Image

Last summer, I started cooking with rice.  This was kind of a big deal because I had hated rice ever since I developed a conditioned taste aversion to it in preschool.  I still prefer pasta, potatoes, or couscous, but I’ve learned to live with and even enjoy rice (or at least basmati- it’s my favourite).  And this recipe I tried today, from the Dinners of the World Company’s Coming, is a fantastic way to prepare it.  It’s tasty even by itself.  I cut the recipe in half so it made 4 servings instead of 8.

You’ll need:

  • 1 tablespoon butter (olive oil or margarine would make an acceptable dairy-free substitute, I’m sure)
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 rounded cup basmati rice
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cardamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon turmeric
  • 2 1/2 cups water

Melt the butter in a saucepan on medium-high ehat and saute the onion in it until it’s soft and translucent.  Add rice and spices and saute a few minutes more.  Add water, cover, and bring to a boil.  Once it boils, reduce the heat and simmer, covered, for 15 minutes more.  The water should be completely absorbed.  Fluff with a fork and serve.  I made some pork vindaloo to go along with it, which was pretty good (a bit sour, but I think I marinated it too long), but the rice definitely stole the show.

One response to “Yellow Rice

  1. sounds great Christina, and as a side note, my sister taught me an easy and great way to cook rice. Bring to a boil and then turn down to medium. Slow boil, lid OFF, until you see round craters in the surface of the rice. Put lid on, turn down to simmer, set timer for 10 minutes. Works perfectly every time!

Leave a Reply

