Shortbread

Image

I’ve been in a bit of a less-than-frugal mood lately, so I’ve been allowing myself to try baking a few desserts that called for real butter, so I decided to try shortbread (the old-fashioned way, rather than individual cookies).  Aaron’s verdict?  “Well, it’s short and it’s bread.”  Quipping aside, though, he liked it and so did I.  It’s incredibly rich, though, so you’ll want to cut it into small wedges.  I got my recipe from Jean Pare’s Holiday Entertaining book (in the Company’s Coming series).

You’ll need:

  • 1/2 lb butter
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Cream the butter and sugar together, add the vanilla, then add the flour.  Then press it into a shortbread mold if you have one, or just do what I did and make an ~8 inch disc on an ungreased pizza pan or cookie sheet.   Prick the shortbread with a fork a few times, and flute the edges any way you like (I just used the tines of the same fork).  Bake at 300 F for 45 minutes.  Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

