Lime and Toasted Coconut Sugar Cookies

Image

When a classmate posted a link to this recipe last week, I knew I had to try it.  Lime-inspired desserts are awesome (maybe even on par with chocolate) and coconut complements the lime flavour so well!  They did not disappoint.  I’m almost hoping Aaron won’t like them, since it leaves more for me, but that seems improbable.

You’ll need:

  • 1 cup butter, softened (I splurged a little and used the real deal, but I expect they’d still be good with margarine, and that would make them dairy-free).
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Zest of one lime (I omitted this as I’m not a huge fan of zest)
  • 3 tablespoons lime juice (I upped it to four, which made the cookies nice and tart)
  • 1/2 cup toasted coconut (couldn’t be easier; you just scatter it on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, and bake for about 5 minutes at 350 F, tossing once or twice)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (I omitted this, as the butter I used was already salted)
  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

Preheat the oven to 350 and line two cookie sheets with parchment paper (or silicone sheets).  In a large bowl, mix butter and sugar until fluffy.  Add egg, vanilla, lime zest, and juice.  Stir in toasted coconut, then stir in baking powder, baking soda, and salt, making sure everything is well-combined.  Add flour and stir until the dough forms.  Don’t overmix.  Shape ~1 inch balls (depending on how big you want the final product to be), roll them in sugar, and place 1 1/2 inches apart on parchment paper.  Bake 8-10 minutes (I went for the shorter amount, as I like my cookies nice and chewy).

And there you have it: one of the most delicious variants on sugar cookies I have ever tasted.  Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

